Skip to main content
Great Prairie AEA
Main Content

The purpose of Great Prairie AEA Special Education is to serve as an educational leader in providing services to eligible individuals birth to age 21. The service area is charged with planning and supporting free and equitable access to quality educational programs along with school district staff, parents and staff from other agencies.

Each school served by Great Prairie AEA has a team that serves its special educational needs. Teams include School psychology, Special Education consulting services, social work services, and speech-language services. Other team members who specialize in occupational therapy, physical therapy, and work experience are utilized when determined necessary. 

Contact

Dr. Angelisa Fynaardt 
Associate Administrator & Director of Special Education
800-382-8970 Ext. 5324 
Angelisa.fynaardt@gpaea.org 

Region 1 - Alan Schwarte
Regional Director 
800-622-0027 Ext. 5801 Harold L. Mick Office (Albia)
Alan.schwarte@gpaea.org 

Region 2 - Nathan Wood
Regional Director 
800-622-0027 Ext. 5512 Ottumwa Office
Nathan.wood@gpaea.org 

Region 3 - Dr. Deb Cook
Regional Director
800-622-0027 Ext. 5324 Ottumwa Office
Deb.cook@gpaea.org 

Region 4 - Jim Cope
Regional Director
800-622-0027 Ext. 5396 Fairfield Office
Jim.cope@gpaea.org 

Region 5 - Kim Kirchner
Regional Director 
800-382-8970 Ext. 2115 Mount Pleasant Office
Kim.kirchner@gpaea.org

Region 6 - Shawn Stringer
Regional Director 
800-382-8970 Ext. 1103 Burlington Office
Shawn.stringer@gpaea.org 

Region 7 - Michelle Harris
Regional Director 
800-382-8970 Ext. 3011 Burlington Office
Michelle.harris@gpaea.org

© 2018Great Prairie AEA. All rights reserved.