In 1974, the Iowa Legislature created 15 Area Education Agencies to provide programs and services for local school districts to ensure all Iowa children have equal educational opportunities. Great Prairie AEA is one of 9 now consolidated Area Education Agencies.

Great Prairie AEA provides leadership and service to more than 35,000 students, 2,700 teachers and administrators in 32 school districts and nine (9) accredited non-public schools across 6,360 square miles in Southeast Iowa. Great Prairie AEA's programs and services are agency-wide focusing on improving student performance.

A nine-member Board of Directors, selected by local school boards, oversees the operation of Great Prairie AEA. The Board sets policy and ensures that all programs and services are implemented in a manner consistent with those policies and the approved budget of the Agency.


Great Prairie Area Education Agency will be the recognized leader in services that improve student performance.


Great Prairie Area Education Agency improves teaching and learning by developing leaders, discovering solutions, and delivering service through collaboration with students, families, schools, and communities.


  • All agency services will improve their quality.
  • All students will improve their performance.

Serving school districts in the counties of Appanoose, Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Lucas, Mahaska, Monroe, Van Buren, Wapello, and Wayne.