Election of AEA Board Members

The Great Prairie Area Education Agency will be accepting Statement of Candidacy submissions for the election of five (5) AEA Board members in December 2023. The five Board positions open for election are:

  • District 1: Central Lee, Keokuk & Van Buren
  • District 3: Keota, North Mahaska, Oskaloosa, Sigourney & Tri-County
  • District 4: Cardinal, Centerville, Davis County, Moulton-Udell, Seymour
  • District 5: a portion of the Ottumwa District
  • District 8: a portion of the Burlington District

School Board Members from these districts will choose the Great Prairie Area Education Agency representatives. Under Iowa law, anyone who is a resident and elector of the Director District indicated may seek election to the AEA Board, except local school employees or members of the Community College Boards of Directors.

Terms of office for these positions on the Board are for 4 years – December 2023 through December 2027. Meetings of the Great Prairie AEA Board of Directors are held at 5:30 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month at the Fairfield Arts & Convention Center, 200 North Main in Fairfield, Iowa.

Persons interested in declaring candidacy must file a “Statement of Candidacy,” available from Jennifer Woodley, Great Prairie AEA Public Relations Coordinator/Board Secretary, at 800-382-8970, Ext. 1232 or jennifer.woodley@gpaea.org.The deadline for filing a Statement of Candidacy is October 15, 2023.