Skip to main content
Great Prairie AEA
Main Content

NEW STATEWIDE REGISTRATION SYSTEM COMING SOON! GPAEA's registration system will be unavailable beginning April 23 through early May. We are transitioning to a new registration system during this time. Please use our Save the Date list below to mark your calendars for the courses you wish to attend. The new registration system will only accept Purchase Orders and Credit/Debit Cards. Please be prepared to make a payment when you sign up for a course in the new registration system starting in May. Stay tuned for future updates. Please contact Michelle Dickey michelle.dickey@gpaea.org if you have questions.

Save the Date for PD Catalog - Registration coming soon for the following classes:

Course Name Dates Contact, Email
Classroom Strategies to Grow Responsibility & Intrinsic Academic Motivation - Burlington Art Center, Burlington, Iowa - click here for flyer May 3-7 Ed Webber/High Trust, 319-931-0101 or Edwebber7133@gmail.com
Para Educator Course I: Facing New Challenges, Communication, Ethics, and Confidentiality - Harmony Elementary (8 am to 4 pm) May 29 & 30 Stephanie Vititoe, stephanie.vititoe@gpaea.org
Para Educator Course II: Facing New Challenges Roles and Responsibilities - Harmony Elementary (8 am to 4 pm) June 1 & 4 Stephanie Vititoe, stephanie.vititoe@gpaea.org
Classflow - Burlington 21C  June 4-5 Jane Trotter, jane.trotter@gpaea.org
Reading and Teaching Strategies in Poverty: Strategies for Erasing the Opportunity Gap - Harmony Elementary June 4-5 Libby Laughlin, rllaughlin@mchsi.com
Running Records - Ottumwa & Burlington AEA June 5 & 6 Becky Ahern, becky.ahern@gpaea.org or Melinda Montgomery, melinda.montgomery@gpaea.org
Good-Bye - Hello... Letting Go In Order to Implement More Effective Preschool Teaching - Ottumwa AEA June 5, 6 & 8 Vickie Parker, vickie.parker@gpaea.org or Dawn Johnson, dawn.johnson@gpaea.org, Anne Michel, anne.michel@gpaea.org
Number Talks Whole Number Computation - Burlington AEA June 6 & 7 Lori Mueller, lori.mueller@gpaea.org
Para Educator Course III: Behavior Improvement - Harmony Elementary (8 am to 4 pm) June 7 & 8 Stephanie Vititoe, stephanie.vititoe@gpaea.org
Module 3: Iowa Science Standards - Gathering and Using Evidence of Student Learning in the Science Classroom - Ottumwa AEA June 7-8 Tami Plein, tami.plein@gpaea.org
Broadway Musical and American Culture - Ottumwa AEA June 7 & 8 Carl Johnson, seabjay@yahoo.com
Educators in the Workplace - IHCC - Pre-Registration link June 11-14 Cammie Richards, cammie.richards@indianhills.edu
Moodle Strategies - Van Buren Schools June 11, 14 and 18 Kristin Steingreaber, kris.steingreaber@van-burencsd.org
OSHA 10 for Educators - Burlington AEA June 11 & 12 Clint Kobelt, clint.kobelt@fmcsd.org
Fierce 1 (1 credit) - Fairfield June 13 and 14 Anne Morgan, anne.morgan@gpaea.org
Fierce 1 (2 evaluator renewal) - Fairfield June 13, 14, and 21 Anne Morgan, anne.morgan@gpaea.org
Early Childhood Workshop Series 2018 - Ottumwa AEA (9am to 3pm) June 15, 18, 20 Vickie Parker, vickie.parker@gpaea.org or Dawn Johnson, dawn.johnson@gpaea.org
POTTERY II with Betty Printy - Bentonsport June 16 - 17 Melinda Stockwell, villagesfolkschool@gmail.com
Early Childhood Workshop Series-Strengthening Little Fingers and Improving Fine Motor Skills in Preschoolers - Ottumwa AEA June 18 Vickie Parker, vickie.parker@gpaea.org or Dawn Johnson, dawn.johnson@gpaea.org
Evidence-Based Practices in Autism - Ottumwa AEA
 
 
 
June 18 & 19 Crystal Hornback, 
crystal.hornback@gpaea.org
Module 3: Iowa Science Standards - Gathering and Using Evidence of Student Learning in the Science Classroom - Burlington AEA June 18-19 Tami Plein, tami.plein@gpaea.org
Fierce Conversation 2: Generations and Feedback - Burlington AEA June 18, 25 Anne Morgan, anne.morgan@gpaea.org
Substitute Authorization - Burlington AEA June 18, 19, 20 Michael Carper, mcarper21@gapps.bcsds.org
ST-AT 4 Day (combined ST-AT I and II) - Burlington AEA June 19-22 Sara McCollum, sara.mccollum@gpaea.org
Early Childhood Workshop Series-Deeper Math Learning in Preschool - Ottumwa AEA June 20 Vickie Parker, vickie.parker@gpaea.org or Dawn Johnson, dawn.johnson@gpaea.org
Foundations of English Learners - Burlington AEA June 20 & 21 Michelle Dickey, michelle.dickey@gpaea.org
Yoga for Teachers - Burlington AEA  June 21 & 22 Molly Schreiber, mollymschreiber@gmail.com
Guided Project Learning for Social Studies Teachers - Ottumwa AEA June 21 & 22 contact: mswadzy@gmail.com
PASTELS I & II with Gin Lammert - Bentonsport June 23-24 Melinda Stockwell, villagesfolkschool@gmail.com
Teachers in the Workplace XVIII
 
click link for dates Tami Plein, tami.plein@gpaea.org
Classflow - Burlington 21 C June 25-26 Jane Trotter, jane.trotter@gpaea.org
Evidence-Based Practices in Autism - Burlington AEA
 
June 25-26 Sara McCollum, sara.mccollum@gpaea.org
Educators in the Workplace - IHCC - Pre-Registration link June 25-28 Cammie Richards, cammie.richards@indianhills.edu
ST-AT 4 Day (combined ST-AT I and II) - Ottumwa AEA
 
 
June 26-29 Crystal Hornback, 
crystal.hornback@gpaea.org
Love and Logic (BASIC) - Burlington AEA June 26, 27 Dave VanNess, vannessd@mepoedu.org
Behavior Toolbox for Classroom Management - Burlington - 2 day course June 26 & 27 Shelli Blazic, shelli.blazic@gpaea.org
Module 3: Iowa Science Standards - Gathering and Using Evidence of Student Learning in the Science Classroom - Ottumwa AEA June 28-29 Tami Plein, tami.plein@gpaea.org
PLEIN AIR: LANDSCAPES Workshop with John Preston - Bentonsport July 7-8 Melinda Stockwell, villagesfolkschool@gmail.com
Classflow - Ottumwa 21C July 9-10 Jane Trotter, jane.trotter@gpaea.org
LETRS Modules 4-6 - Burlington AEA July 10, 11, 17 & 18 Michelle Deshler, michelle.deshler@gpaea.org
Foundations of English Learners - Ottumwa AEA July 11 & 12 Michelle Dickey, michelle.dickey@gpaea.org
GEO/PALEO World of Dinosaurs: Using geology and paleontology of dinosaurs for Earth Science Inquiry - Choutou, Montana and Two Medicine Dinosaur Center at Bynum, Montana July 15-21 Sherman Lundy, sherml@bmcaggregates.com
Educators in the Workplace - IHCC - Pre-Registration link July 16-19 Cammie Richards, cammie.richards@indianhills.edu
Behavior Toolbox for Classroom Management - Ottumwa - 2 day course July 17 & 18 Shelli Blazic, shelli.blazic@gpaea.org
Broadway Musical and American Culture - Burlington AEA July 19 & 20 Carl Johnson, seabjay@yahoo.com
Substitute Authorization - Ottumwa AEA July 23, 24 & 25
Stephanie Vititoe, stephanie.vititoe@gpaea.org
Teaching Students w/Dyslexia/Dysgraphia - Ottumwa AEA July 24 & 31 Michelle Deshler, michelle.deshler@gpaea.org
Behavior Toolbox for Classroom Management - Burlington AEA - 2 day course July 24 & 25 Shelli Blazic, shelli.blazic@gpaea.org
Desmos: Introduction to Graphing Calculator and Activities - Burlington AEA
 
 
July 30 & 31 Lynn Selking, 
lynn.selking@gpaea.org
Fundamentals of Photonics - Indian Hills Community College, Ottumwa July 30-31 Greg Kepner, greg.kepner@indianhills.edu
Desmos - Location TBD July 30 & 31 Kate Hash, kate.hash@gpaea.org
Mathematical Fluency for Elementary Teachers August 1 & 2 Lori Mueller, lori.mueller@gpaea.org
Laser Material Processing August 6-10 Greg Kepner, greg.kepner@indianhills.edu
Rational Numbers and Number Talks: Fractions, Decimals, and Percentages - Burlington AEA
 
August 6 & 7 Lynn Selking, 
lynn.selking@gpaea.org
Rational Numbers and Number Talks - Albia AEA August 6 & 7 Kate Hash, kate.hash@gpaea.org
RUG WEAVING Workshop with Teri Showman - Bentonsport September 15-16 Melinda Stockwell, villagesfolkschool@gmail.com

Registration Instructions & Policies

Instructions

Browse or search the catalog for the course or workshop you would like to register for.  Please note courses are in order by start date.  To register for a course, click on the title of the course.  This will take you to the course page which contains detailed information about the course and enrollment options.  Click the orange "Click to Enroll" button at the top or bottom of the page.  Select "I'm a registered user" and log in if you already have an account or select "I'm a new user" and follow the prompts to create an account if this is your first time using the system.  Select an enrollment option and payment option.  Read the terms and conditions, check the box, and click the "Submit Registration" button.

Enrollment and Material Fees

Enrollment fees are listed on the course page.  The enrollment fee for each available credit type will be displayed.  Some enrollment fees include additional fees for printing, materials, food, etc.  If a course requires additional fees and it is not already built-in to the enrollment fee, the additional fee will be noted in the Session Info section along with instructions about how to handle the additional fee.

Payments

When registering, you have the option to pay by mailing or bringing in check/cash/money order, paying online with a credit card (Visa or MasterCard) or entering a purchase order number.  Payment is due one week before class begins.  If payment has not been received by Shannon Johnson in the Burlington GPAEA office at least one week prior to the first class, your registration may be dropped.  Check/money order payments should be sent to Great Prairie AEA, Attn: Shannon Johnson, 3601 West Avenue Road, Burlington, IA  52601.  If using a purchase order, please send a copy to Julie Hannam via e-mail (julie.hannam@gpaea.org) or fax (641-682-9083).  If you did not pay by credit card when registering, but would like to pay by credit card, please call Shannon Johnson at 319-753-6561 ext. 1136.

Dropping a Course

If you need to cancel a class, please contact Julie Hannam at 800-382-8970 ext. 5239 or Shannon Johnson at ext. 1136  to cancel your registration. If the cancellation is at least one week prior to the start date of the class, a full refund can be expected. If a class is dropped without proper notice (less than one week) or the participant does not show for class, a $25 fee will be charged.  In an emergency situation, which necessitates dropping a registration less than one week prior or after a course has started, it is the discretion of the Professional Development staff to approve a refund.

Cancellations and Deadlines for Minimum Enrollment

Classes that do not meet the minimum enrollment by the deadline will be cancelled.  The deadline for minimum enrollment is typically at least one week before the class is set to begin.  Participants will be notified of the cancellation by e-mailed from the registrar and will also be e-mailed through MyLearningPlan.  The deadline for minimum enrollment is posted in the course catalog in the session info section.  If a class is cancelled, a full refund will be issued to the participant.  If you question if your class has been cancelled, please call the Professional Development office to confirm.

If a class is cancelled or reschedule due to weather, the instructor is to notify the Professional Development office as soon as possible.  When a notification is received, it will be posted to the GPAEA Alerts blog

Credit Type Change

A change in credit type must be made before or on the first day of class.  You must request the credit type change through the registrar.  All additional fees must be paid immediately.  

© 2018Great Prairie AEA. All rights reserved.