Skip to main content
Great Prairie AEA
Main Content

Board Governance

Great Prairie AEA is governed by a nine-member citizen board of directors elected by area school boards. Each director serves a four-year term. The Board meets monthly and sets policy and budget for the Agency. The area served by the Great Prairie Area Education Agency is divided into nine equally populated director districts.

Great Prairie AEA's Board member must live in the director district they represent. They may be a member of a local school board, but cannot be an employee of the public schools. The members are not paid for their services.

At least five members of the Board must be present to hold a meeting. Periodically, special meetings are required as well. Meetings are governed by the Open Meetings Law of Iowa and the public is always welcome. An agenda of each meeting is prepared and sent to AEA Board members, area news media, and are published below. 

District 1    Lora Wolff
District 2    Melissa Ballard (President)
District 3    Patricia Miletich
District 4    Matt Greiner (Vice President)
District 5    Cindy Kurtz-Hopkins
District 6    Margaret Kelly
District 7    Janet Smith
District 8    Rhonda Frevert
District 9    Victoria Stephenson

Board Policies

Reference: Iowa Code 273.8

Register for access to the October 13 Board Meeting at

Board Agendas

Board Minutes


© 2020Great Prairie AEA. All rights reserved.