Literacy - Great Prairie Area Education Agency

Literacy

Literacy Services are designed to assist schools to build teacher capacity in using research-based reading and writing instructional strategies based on the needs of the students.
 
Click on the initiative below for information, forms, and logs:
  • Every Child Reads (ECR)
  • Second Chance Reading (SCR) 

Services

Literacy Services for technical assistance/training are provided as agency large group training session and school on-site professional development, technical assistance, & follow-up, use of data, aligning instruction with assessment in the following areas:

  • Access to print;
  • Collecting/analyzing teacher implementation data;
  • Collecting/analyzing student performance data: Informal/Basic Reading Inventory (BRI), ITBS, and ITED;
  • Developing reading/literacy professional learning communities;
  • Explicit Instruction;
  • Motivation;
  • Non-Fiction Read Alouds;
  • Picture Word Inductive Model (PWIM);
  • Question Answer Relationships (QAR);
  • Quality Nonfiction; Reading Recovery;
  • Research-based interventions;
  • Research/literature base in reading/writing literacy;
  • Six Traits + 1, writing process & instruction, Writing Across the Curriculum;
  • Talk Alouds;
  • Think Alouds; and
  • Vocabulary.

Contacts

Melanie Collora
Literacy Consultant
319-385-9005 Ext. 3036 Mt. Pleasant Office 
Melanie.collora@gpaea.org

Becky Ahern
Literacy Consultant
319-753-6561 Ext. 1257 Burlington Office 
Becky.ahern@gpaea.org

Fran McVeigh
Literacy Consultant
800-622-0027 Ext. 5817 Albia Office 
Fran.mcveigh@gpaea.org

Melinda Montgomery
Literacy Consultant
800-622-0027  Ext. 5835 Albia Office 
Melinda.montgomery@gpaea.org

Brita Oyen
Literacy Consultant
800-622-0027 Ext. 5226 Ottumwa Office 
Brita.oyen@gpaea.org

Kendra Roquet
Literacy Consultant
800-622-0027 Ext. 5227 Ottumwa Office 
Kendra.roquet@gpaea.org

Amy Thacher
Literacy Consultant
800-382-8970 Ext. 1164 Burlington Office
Amy.thacher@gpaea.org

© 2017 Great Prairie AEA. All Rights Reserved.