Literacy - Great Prairie Area Education Agency

Literacy

Literacy Services are designed to assist schools to build capacity in using research-based literacy instruction, assessment and curricula to meet the data-based needs of ALL students.
 

Services

Great Prairie AEA provides a variety of services in the area of reading, writing, speaking and listening to improve literacy learning for K-12 students. Core/Universal Instruction and Intervention learning are the focus of support for area administrators, coaches, leadership teams, teachers and support staff. This includes:

  • Agency large group professional development sessions;
  • District, building-wide, and/or grade level professional development;
  • Consultation for administrative and building leadership teams;
  • Coaching and follow-up sessions;
  • Aligning instruction, assessment, and curriculum;
  • Assist in implementation of instruction, assessment and curriculum;
  • Data analysis and interpretation;
  • Support for the Iowa Core Standards; and
  • Modeling and demonstrations of best practices in literacy.

Elementary (MTSS in the Elementary):

Instructional Time/Opportunities

Standards and The Enacted Curriculum

Instructional Practices

Instructional Materials

Assessment for Learning

Collaborative Literacy Support

Comprehensive Intervention Model (CIM) (requires Reading Recovery within the district and minimum one semester commitment).

Secondary:

Instructional Practices - Reading in ALL Disciplinary Areas

Instructional Practices - Writing in ALL Disciplinary Areas

Assessment for Learning

Comprehensive Intervention Model (CIM) (requires Reading Recovery within the district and minimum one semester commitment)

GPAEA Resources:

External Resources:

Contacts

Becky Ahern
Literacy Consultant
319-753-6561 Ext. 1257 Burlington Office 
Becky.ahern@gpaea.org

Melanie Collora
Literacy Consultant
319-385-9005 Ext. 3036 Mt. Pleasant Office 
Melanie.collora@gpaea.org

Amanda Evans
Literacy Consultant
800-622-0027 Ext. 5817 Albia Office 
Amanda.evans@gpaea.org

Melinda Montgomery
Literacy Consultant
800-622-0027  Ext. 5835 Albia Office 
Melinda.montgomery@gpaea.org

Brita Oyen
Literacy Consultant
800-622-0027 Ext. 5226 Ottumwa Office 
Brita.oyen@gpaea.org

Kendra Roquet
Literacy Consultant
800-622-0027 Ext. 5227 Ottumwa Office 
Kendra.roquet@gpaea.org

Amy Thacher
Literacy Consultant
800-382-8970 Ext. 1164 Burlington Office
Amy.thacher@gpaea.org

© 2017 Great Prairie AEA. All Rights Reserved.